Related Pages

2008-2009 Honorary Rotarians

On Monday, August 25th the Elkhart Rotary Club introduced six of the eight 2008-2009 Rotary year Honorary Rotarians. Annually, at the beginning of the Rotary year, the Elkhart Rotary Club selects a group of individuals to be recognized for their commitment to community service, leadership and service above self, not only throughout Elkhart County, but also to the surrounding communities and beyond. The Honorary Rotarians will be presented a plaque from the Club, that recognizes their "exemplary leadership and devoted service to the Elkhart community." Rotary International's motto of "Service above self" describes the actions and deeds of the new and returning Honorary Rotarians. This year the Elkhart Rotary Club recognized three new Honorary Rotarians and five returning honorees. New honorees are Honorable Dick Moore, Mayor of Elkhart; Dr. Aixsa Perez, Director of the Elkhart County Health Department; and Rev. Mark Fenstermacher, Senior Pastor at Trinity United Methodist Church. Returning honorees are Arthur Decio, Honorary Rotarian Emeritus; Mike Books, Sheriff of Elkhart County; Curtis Hill, Elkhart County Prosecutor; Virginia Manley, Retired School Administrator, and Phil Penn, President of the Greater Elkhart Chamber of Commerce.

Photo from left to right: Arthur Decio, Mayor Dick Moore, Phil Penn, Aixsa Perez, Sheriff Mike Books, Curtis Hill. Not shown are Virginia Manley and Mark Fenstermacher.